In a move that is surely intended to increase the possibility of attracting more privateer teams to the 2010 World Touring Car Championship, organisers have announced a substantial increase to the 'Independents' prize fund.

With decreased 'Works' entries from both BMW and Seat for next season, the role of independent teams within the series will become much more important during 2010 which is seen as a transitional year before the championship switches to new rules for 2011. So with this in mind, a 24% increase to the Yokohama Independents Trophy prize fund has been announced which will see the total prize fund jump to 480,000 euros... [read more]

The following prize money will be awarded to the top six Independent drivers, classified by adding together the points obtained in the two races of each event, according to the following scale:

- 12,000 euros to the first driver
- 10,000 euros to the second driver
- 8,000 euros to the third driver
- 5,000 euros to the fourth driver
- 3,000 euros to the fifth driver
- 2,000 euros to the sixth driver

Also new for 2010 will be one additional point awarded to drivers setting the independents’ pole position and fastest lap at each round, along with three additional points for each point scored in the WTCC overall classification.

Previous winners of the Independents Trophy were Wiechers-Sport’s Marc Hennerici (BMW 320i) in 2005, GR Asia’s Tom Coronel (SEAT León) in 2006, Wiechers-Sport’s Stefano D’Aste (BMW 320si) in 2007, Proteam Motorsport’s Sergio Hernández (BMW 320si) in 2008 and SUNRED’s Tom Coronel (SEAT León) last year.

Photo/Editorial: Neil Tozer

No comments:

Post a Comment