Current FIA World Touring Car Champion Gabriele Tarquini took pole position at Zolder today for round of the 2010 series. The amiable Italian recovered from an engine destroying trip through Zolder's 2nd chicane in free practice to claim the top spot for tommorow's first race ahead of team-mate of Jordi Gene. In a qualifying session that was dominated by changeable weather conditions Tarquini stole a march on his rivals, completing his hot lap in Q2 shortly before the circuit was hit by rain... [read more]

“The cold conditions were good for us" commented the Italian. It was good to get a lap at the start of Q2 and fortunately we chose to put new tyres on for our first run and it paid off. My second practice session was cut short as I tried to fly at the second chicane!

The Sunred Seat driver went on to add "I destroyed the flat bottom and the engine was leaking oil. We changed the engine as we had no penalty due to using it for the last three events, so to come out with a pole has been a lucky day for us.”

Two Chevrolet's will occupy the second row of the grid with Switzerland's Alain Menu just edging out 2008 champion Yvan Muller.

Q1 and Q2 Qualifying Results // WTCC @ Zolder - June 19th 2010:

1 1 Gabriele TARQUINI ITA SEAT Leon TDI 1:38.999 1:38.265
2 4 Jordi GENE ESP SEAT Leon TDI 1:39.061 1:38.430
3 8 Alain MENU SUI Chevrolet Cruze 1:38.840 1:38.494
4 6 Yvan MULLER FRA Chevrolet Cruze 1:39.037 1:38.584
5 7 Robert HUFF GBR Chevrolet Cruze 1:39.187 1:38.779
6 5 Norbert MICHELISZ HUN SEAT Leon TDI 1:39.072 1:39.072
7 18 Fredy BARTH SUI SEAT Leon TDI 1:39.151 1:39.173
8 3 Tiago MONTEIRO POR SEAT Leon TDI 1:38.875 1:39.255
9 11 Andy PRIAULX GBR BMW 320si 1:39.030 1:42.856
10 10 Augusto FARFUS BRA BMW 320si 1:39.112 1:52.493
11 2 Tom CORONEL NED SEAT Leon TDI 1:39.456
12 17 Michel NYKJAER DEN SEAT Leon TDI 1:39.472
13 27 I Pierre-Yves CORTHALS BEL SEAT Leon 1:39.610
14 20 I Darryl O'YOUNG HKG Chevrolet Lacetti 1:39.824
15 24 I Kristian POULSEN DEN BMW 320si 1:39.863
16 35 Vincent RADERMECKER BEL Chevrolet Cruze 1:40.003
17 15 I Franz ENGSTLER GER BMW 320si 1:40.058
18 25 I Sergio HERNANDEZ ESP BMW 320si 1:40.278
19 26 I Stefano D'ASTE ITA BMW 320si 1:40.287
20 19 I Harry VAULKHARD GBR Chevrolet Lacetti 1:40.395
21 21 I Mehdi BENNANI MAR BMW 320si 1:40.738
22 16 I Andrei ROMANOV RUS BMW 320si 1:42.934

Photo/Editorial: Neil Tozer

(Photo dedicated to the late Richard Tozer 21st June 1935 - 29th July 2009)

No comments:

Post a Comment