Pirtek Racing's Andrew Jordan topped the timesheets at Rockingham today (May 25th) during the second official BTCC TOCA test of the 2010 season. The youngster from Lichfield who celebrated his 21st Birthday earlier this week set the fastest time of the day in the cooler morning session with a lap of the 1.94 mile circuit in 1 min 23.886 seconds.

Quickest in the afternoon session was the RML Chevrolet Cruze of joint championship leader Jason Plato who finished the day just 0.001 shy of the NGTC Turbo Vectra. Third fastest and once again showing that he is certainly quick over a single lap was James Nash for Uniq racing with Triple Eight who wound up in third spot with his Vauxhall Vectra... [read more]

Having recently had the size of their Turbo Inlet restrictor reduced by Series organisers TOCA, the Fords of Tom Chilton and Tom Onslow-Cole finished the two sessions in 6th and 10th respectively. Interestingly the speed trap figures show that they were approximately 4mph down on the figures recorded back in April during qualifying for round two of the series.

The Rockingham test also saw a very creditable performance by Daniel Lloyd who had been invited to test the second Triple Eight Vectra. The 18yr old from Huddersfield has been competing in America as part of the BF Goodrich/Skip Barber National Championship presented by Mazda but has always dreamt of getting the chance to prove himself in a front running touring car.

Team Honda had both cars at Rockingham along with ex Team Dynamics driver James Thompson who was helping out with set-up and evaluative work on the Civic. Thompson who recently parted company with ETCC and DTCC squad Hartman Racing won 3 races for Steve Neal's team during the course of the 2009 season.

2010 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship - Official TOCA Test Rockingham 25-05-10


1st Andrew JORDAN Vauxhall Vectra 1:23.886 1:24.718 Pirtek Racing
2nd Jason PLATO Chevrolet Cruze 1:23.951 1:23.887 Silverline Chevrolet
3rd James NASH Vauxhall Vectra 1:23.957 1:24.245 Uniq Racing with Triple Eight
4th Matt NEAL Honda Civic 1:24.050 1:24.572 Honda Racing Team
5th Alex MacDOWALL Chevrolet Cruze 1:24.169 1:24.641 Silverline Chevrolet
6th Tom CHILTON Ford Focus 1:24.693 1:24.187 Team Aon
7th Daniel LLOYD Vauxhall Vectra 1:26.014 1:24.261 Uniq Racing with Triple Eight
8th Gordon SHEDDEN Honda Civic 1:24.363 1:24.363 Honda Racing Team
9th James THOMPSON Honda Civic 1:24.456 1:24.456 Honda Racing Team
10th Tom ONSLOW-COLE Ford Focus 1:24.828 1:24.532 Team Aon
11th Paul O'NEILL Honda Integra 1:25.033 1:24.894 Sunshine.co.uk with Tech-Speed Msport
12th David PINKNEY Vauxhall Vectra 1:25.275 1:25.037 Pinkney Motorsport
13th Arthur FORSTER BMW 320si 1:26.588 1:25.779 Forster Motorsport(GBR)
14th Martin DEPPER BMW 320si 1:27.278 1:26.464 Forster Motorsport(GBR)

Round 4 of the 2010 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship takes place at Oulton Park, Cheshire,UK on June 5th/6th.

Photo/Editorial: Neil Tozer

No comments:

Post a Comment