In it’s 31st year, the Dakar Rally kicked off yesterday in Buenos Aires, with 362 teams, comprised of 176 motorcycles, 134 cars and 52 trucks, entered in this years competition.

The race, which began in downtown Buenos Aires, will cover a distance of 5,610 miles for cars and trucks, and 5,553 miles for bikes and ATVs. The race is scheduled to end on the January 16th, with all remaining entrants crossing the finish line on the 9th of July Avenue, one of the major boulevards in downtown Buenos Aires.

Follow the link for results from the first stage of the car race, as well as a bit of video... [read more]

Nani Roma collected the second stage victory of his career in the car class, besting Volkswagen driver Carlos Sainz and fellow BMW driver Stéphane Peterhansel, who finished second and third respectively.

Stage One Results // Car Class:

Pos Driver Car Time/Gap
1. Nani Roma BMW 2h11m15s
2. Carlos Sainz VW + 2m07s
3. Stephane Peterhansel BMW + 2m50s
4. Nasser Al-Attiyah VW + 3m29s
5. Giniel de Villiers VW + 4m31s
6. Robby Gordon Hummer + 4m48s
7. Krzysztof Holowczyc Nissan + 6m07s
8. Mark Miller VW + 6m13s
9. Leonid Novitskiy BMW + 7m02s
10. Mauricio Jose Neves VW + 7m08s

Be sure and stay tuned for continued coverage of the 2010 Dakar Rally!

Video: YouTube
Editorial: Justin W. Coffey
Image and Info: Dakar Rally

No comments:

Post a Comment