Witley and District Motorcycle Club held their annual post Christmas 3 hour Enduro event at Weavers Down near Liss Hampshire this last weekend.

With an entry list of over 300 riders the off road motorcycle event saw competitors from all over southern England battle the muddy conditions in what is a supreme test of both fitness and endurance... [read more]

The Witley & DMCC has a long and rich history being founded all the way back in 1921 and becoming affiliated to the Auto-Cycle Union of Great Britain in 1924.

Running as in previous years as a "Hare and Hounds" type event, the course which organisers laid out was approximately 8 miles in length and took riders through a multitude of sections consisting of extremely rugged terrain.

Parts of the marked out off road challenge ran through dense woodland along with various more open and faster sections including a virtually flooded 5 acre sandpit.

With the 300 riders taking the mass start on the stroke of 11am, competitors battled through the extremely wet conditions over the next three hours tackling hills you could only just manage to walk up, deep ruts and mud bogs along with all manner of other natural obstacles.

Coming home at the front of the field completing 8 laps and over 64 miles of punishing racing was James Jackman from Dorking in Surrey. 32 yr old Jackman who rides for Poole Motorcycles reached the final time control point some eleven seconds clear of the pursuing Mathew Bayliss and Daniel Bevan. The battle for second had raged right through the 3 hour event and by the time the pair had reached the finish they were quite amazingly only separated by 7 hundredths of a second.

Taking the win in the "Expert" class was Steve Holcombe who narrowly defeated the chasing Dorren Coutts. In the Clubman class victory went to Anthony Milliar on his Honda 450, with Anthony finishing the day a very ceditable 12th overall.


Pos No Name Laps Time Class Machine
1 1 James Jackman 8 03:05:30 Championship Yamaha 250 4T
2 8 Mathew Bayliss 8 03:16:32 Championship Honda 250 4T
3 6 Daniel Beaven 8 03:16:39 Championship Honda 250 4T
4 3 Richard Ely 8 03:20:33 Championship Suzuki 250 2T
5 28 Steve Holcombe 8 03:23:15 Expert KTM 144 2T
6 29 Dorren Coutts 8 03:23:40 Expert Yamaha 450 4T
7 7 Neil Bowker 8 03:24:01 Championship Honda 125 2T
8 208 Stan Watt 8 03:24:35 Championship KTM 400 4T
9 32 Tom Norton 7 03:00:39 Expert Honda 450 4T
10 351 Gary McCoy 7 03:02:59 Championship KTM 250 2T

Photo/Editorial: Neil Tozer

1 comment:

  1. Great stuff! The last photo is killer!