In a dramatic afternoon of WTCC qualifying around the streets of Macau Robb Huff claimed pole position for the final round of the 2009 season.

After a session which ended in near darkness and was dominated by accidents and red flags Huff came through the carnage to take top spot in his Chevrolet Cruze.

The headlines however were created by both Seat title contenders in a freak accident which surely has dented their championship aspirations... [read more]

After easily making it through Q1 both Gacbriele Tarquini and Yvan Muller lost control of their TDI Leon's at faraway ploughing into the barriers and each other after being caught out on a trail of cement dust that had been laid down after a nasty accident in Q1 when James Thompson's Lada (Above) rear ended the stationary BMW (Below) of Stefano D'aste. Both the British driver along with Muller and Tarquini required a trip to hospital for medical checks before all three were released later in the evening. Also skating into the barriers at the same point was Alain Menu with he two being consequently not setting a time.

With both front running Seats eliminated on the spot and requiring major work before Sunday's race it was left to Augusto Farfus the third of the potential champions to stake his claim. Farfus would end the session in third just behind BMW team-mate Andy Priaulx and Huff who both bettered the Brazilian's time on their final laps.

British driver Huff was overjoyed as he spoke to the media, ""I've never in my life experienced a qualifying session like that, the track was dark at the end and you couldn't see anything. It was incredible. I've never done a pole on my third lap before, so it is just fantastic for Chevrolet. I'm really pleased."

With an extra day between qualifying and raceday Seat will be desperately hoping that the cars of Tarquini and Muller (Below) can be repaired to a race ready condition.

WTCC 2009 Final Round Macau Qualifying:

Pos Driver Car Q1 Q2
1. Rob Huff Chevrolet 2m31.282s 2m32.141s
2. Andy Priaulx BMW 2m31.734s 2m32.483s
3. Augusto Farfus BMW 2m31.505s 2m33.033s
4. Jordi Gene SEAT 2m31.171s 2m33.136s
5. Tiago Monteiro SEAT 2m31.357s 2m33.322s
6. Jorg Muller BMW 2m31.724s 2m34.091s
7. Yvan Muller SEAT 2m31.241s no time
8. Gabriele Tarquini SEAT 2m31.150s no time
9. Alain Menu Chevrolet 2m31.842s no time
10. Rickard Rydell SEAT 2m31.859s no time

Photo: WTCC Media/SEAT Sport
Editorial: Neil Tozer