Formula Drift is a very popular drifting series based in the United States. In 2009, Formula Drift events were organized in Singapore and Thailand. After the successes of both events, Formula Drift Asia will be completed by the final round in Malaysia, scheduled for December 19-20. The inaugural Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia will be organized by ESPN STAR Sports (ESS) and sponsored by Goodyear.

Fifty of the best drifters from the Asia-Pacific region will compete in the event, with only 32 places available for the final stages on Sunday. Local favourite and Formula D Singapore winner Tengku Djan Ley (above), Formula D Thailand winner "Mad Mike" Whiddett and 2004 D1GP champion Ryuji Miki are some of the featured drifters taking parts. Drifting is gaining a lot of new fans in this region and this event will be one of the important yardstick of how popular drifting is compared to the other motorsport event.

Be sure and stay tuned for coverage of the inaugural Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia right here on ColdTrackDays!

- Anas Zakaria

No comments:

Post a Comment