Here are a few photos from Friday's free practice at the Sepang Circuit in Malaysia. While the favorite going into this weekend seems to be the surprise Brawn GP team, the real surprise was seeing Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen atop the time sheets after a serious malfunction with his KERS unit earlier in the day.

Both Raikkonen and Ferrari teammate, Felipe Massa, ended the day nearly a half second ahead of the rest of the field. Follow the link for complete results and more photos from Friday's free practice at the Sepang Circuit... [read more]

After an early problem with his KERS battery unit, Raikkonen returned to the track and managed a 1:35.707 lap, the fastest of the day.

Hamilton was certainly off pace on Friday, managing to finish the day in 11th with his fastest lap being a 1:36.515.

The Williams team looked promising, as Nico Rosberg finished the day just behind the two Ferrari's and Sebastian Vettel in the RedBull Renault.

Both of the BMW-Sauber drivers had a terrible showing on Friday, finishing 17th (Kubica) and 20th (Heidfeld) after two full practice sessions.

After a disappointing start to the season at his home track in Melbourne (a first turn incident that ended his race), RedBull's Mark Webber managed to finish Friday's practice only 0.319 seconds off the pace of Raikkonen.

1: Kimi Räikkönen (Ferrari) 1:35.707
2: Felipe Massa (Ferrari) 1:35.832
3: Sebastian Vettel (RBR-Renault) 1:35.954
4: Nico Rosberg (Williams-Toyota) 1:36.015
5: Mark Webber (RBR-Renault) 1:36.026
6: Rubens Barrichello (Brawn-Mercedes) 1:36.161
7: Jenson Button (Brawn-Mercedes) 1:36.254
8: Kazuki Nakajima (Williams-Toyota) 1:36.290
9: Heikki Kovalainen (McLaren-Mercedes) 1:36.397
10: Nelson Piquet (Renault) 1:36.401
11: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes) 1:36.515
12: Jarno Trulli (Toyota) 1:36.516
13: Sebastien Buemi (STR-Ferrari) 1:36.628
14: Timo Glock (Toyota) 1:36.639
15: Fernando Alonso (Renault) 1:36.640
16: Adrian Sutil (Force India-Mercedes) 1:36.875
17: Robert Kubica (BMW Sauber) 1:37.267
18: Sebastien Bourdais (STR-Ferrari) 1:37.278
19: Giancarlo Fisichella (Force India-Mercedes) 1:37.432
20: Nick Heidfeld (BMW Sauber) 1:37.930

Stay tuned for coverage following tomorrow's qualifying session.

No comments:

Post a Comment