After three rounds of knockout qualifying, Brawn GP's Jenson Button took the pole for the second time in as many races. Following shortly behind him was the Panasonic Toyota of Jarno Trulli, and the RedBull of Sebastian Vettel. However, due to a ten place grid penalty imposed by the FIA following last weeks incident with Rabert Kubica, Vettel will start tomorrow's race in thirteenth. Follow the link for complete results from yesterdays qualifying and some amazing shots from the Sepang International Circuit... [read more]

While rain clouds loomed in the background all afternoon, the humidity levels allowed for massive grip thanks to the new slick tires.

Jarno Trulli performed flawlessly all afternoon, setting some of the fastest times in qualifying. Crossing the line with just seconds to go in Q3, he claimed the P2 position, bumping Nick Heiedfeld's BMW out of the top ten.

Sebastian Vettel managed to finish the day in P3, posting a 1:35.518 lap time, only 0.337 seconds off the pace of pole sitter, Jenson Button.

As mentioned above, Jenson Button in the Mercedes powered Brawn GP took the pole with a 1:35.181 laptime. This is the second pole for the new Brawn GP team and only the fifth ever for Jenson Button.

Provisional Grid & Pre-race weights // 2009 Malaysian Grand Prix
1. Jenson Button, Brawn GP, 660kg
2. Jarno Trulli, Toyota, 656.5
3. Timo Glock, Toyota, 656.5
4. Nico Rosberg, Williams, 656
5. Mark Webber, Red Bull, 656
6. Robert Kubica, BMW-Sauber, 663
7. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, 662.5
8. Rubens Barrichello, Brawn, 664.5
9. Fernando Alonso, Renault, 680.5
10. Nick Heidfeld, BMW-Sauber, 692
11. Kazuki Nakajima,Williams, 683.4
12. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren, 688
13. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, 647
14. Heikki Kovalainen, McLaren, 688.9
15. Sebastien Bourdais, Toro Rosso, 670.5
16. Felipe Massa, Ferrari, 689.5
17. Nelson Piquet, Renault, 681.9
18. Giancarlo Fisichella, Force India, 680.5
19. Adrian Sutil, Force India, 655.5
20. Sebastien Buemi, Toro Rosso, 686.5

Stay tuned for additional coverage following tomorrows Malaysian Grand Prix at the Sepang International Circuit.

1 comment: